Skip to content

Good God, no. . .Not Another VC Blogger!

December 15, 2010

Brad Svrluga

It’s been said plenty of times in plenty of ways, but yes, I absolutely agree. . .the world needs another VC blogger like it needs another Groupon clone, location-based service, or college football bowl game, for that matter.  So why the heck am I entering this overcrowded fray?

In short, this is more about me than it is about you.  I’ve always liked writing, and I’ve always found writing to be one of the most effective ways for me to structure my thoughts and force myself to spend time reflecting, analyzing and, most importantly, synthesizing.  I’ve done it for my own good, and for the benefit of communications with my partners (inside and outside my firm), for years.  But I’ve always thought that I’d benefit a great deal from doing even more of it.  So, after sitting on the sidelines of the blogosphere for too many years now, I concluded awhile ago that a public blog would serve a very useful forcing function to getting me doing more writing and, importantly, thinking. I won’t let myself have one of those blogs that sits up there with 5 or 6 weeks between posts.  So I’ll force myself to write more, and as a result I’ll think more, and all that should make me more effective at what I do – think about markets and customers, imagine new technologies and opportunities, wrestle with the challenges of building early stage companies, and work hard to support the CEOs that choose to work with me in any way that I can.  Shame on me for waiting so long.

Of course, I do hope that a few people read this, and I hope folks will tell me what they find useful and not useful about it.  And I hope you’ll suggest things you’d like to hear more about or get my thoughts on.  At the very least, I’ll be offering entrepreneurs who are considering working with me something more of a view into my head.

But hell. . .even if nobody’s there to hear it when this tree falls in the forest, I’ll chop it down anyway.

Enjoy.

One Comment

Post a comment
  1. December 7, 2010

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

